Patrick De Baets elected Dean for 2022-2026

(05-04-2022) On March 23rd Prof. De Baets was elected again as the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Architecture. He will assume the mandate for the next four years.

The Dean of every faculty is elected by the Faculty Council for a periode of 4 years. During the Faculty Council the Dean confirmed he was willing to take on the mandate during the period 2022-2026. There were no other nominations and during the Council there were also no other candidacies. After a secret voting, the result was unanimous: every board member voted for Prof. De Baets.

The official announcement was followed by a warm applause. The Dean thanked every member of the Faculty Council for the trust invested in him. He also reffered to all the efforts made by the faculty staff, the importance of harmony and the need for a clear policy vision. 

Overview of the last Deans:

  • 1 October 1998 -. 30 September 2002: Ronny Verhoeven;
  • 1 October 2002 -. 30 September 2004: Paul Kiekens;
  • 1 October 2004 - 30 September 2008: Daniël De Zutter;
  • 1 October 2008 - 30 September 2012: Luc Taerwe;
  • 1 October 2012 - 30 September 2017: Rik Van de Walle;
  • 1 October 2017 - 30 September 2018: Patrick De Baets;
  • 1 October 2018 - 30 September 2022: Patrick De Baets.